Just another WordPress.com weblog

Spring into Shape #3

I decided on Saturday night that I was going to go down to Alexandra Gardens and enter the third and final Spring into Shape Fun Run 4.3km.  The last run that I did was a 5km over 3 weeks ago and I have also been sick for a couple of days last week.  I was feeling as though a little jaunt in the fresh air and rain if was going to, would be good for me.  It would also give me the opportunity to christen my new Kayano 16’s that I purchased a couple of weeks ago!

Arrived nice and early so I could get a good parking spot and also because I was entering on the day.  All went nice and smoothly and I was able to look around at all the stalls leisurely.  I noticed they were selling the event tee for $30 so I snapped one of those up which I was really happy about as it was a really nice one this year :)  

It wasn’t long and we were all lining up at the start and we were off.  I had a little goal in my head if I could do each km in about 6mins or so I would be happy.  Started off good but sort of fizzed out abit into the 3rd km.  That Batman Avenue incline was a bit of a grind for me and thats where I took my first walk break.  Had a 2nd short walk break somewhere after that but can’t remember exactly where!  On the home stretch I seemed to get that 2nd wind and felt quite strong crossing the finish line.  So strong in fact that I actually kept running through the people who take your shoe time tag off and past all the drink people, water and the Emma and Tom’s juices they were giving out :oops:  I don’t know if it  just me but I find at the end of my race I like to ease into a walk and not just stop abruptly.  Needless to say, my face was crimson and I felt like a wannabe athelete, pmsl! 

After I got my composure together I then went back and handed my time tag in and  grabbed some water and a juice!  I have to say, I have been pretty happy since that run and I had forgotten that feeling of entering an event.  My next event will be the 5km Sussan Women’s Fun Run which is a real favourite of mine.  I have all my event goals mapped out for 2011 but themain goal is to enter Fun Run at least once a month.  Life always seems to get in the way of my training so I figure if I can at least maintain my running and knock out a 5km its better than nothing!

Comments on: "Spring into Shape #3" (2)

  1. morseyruns said:

    Hi Lee- I did the one run a month thing- and ended up a bit injured so take care of yourself- I think I stopped listening to my body. Your SIS run sounds great!

  2. I thought about doing that race too, but didn’t make it. Well done for getting out there. It’s certainly been a while since I’ve seen you!

    The Green Power E&T juice is my fave one!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

