Just another WordPress.com weblog

6km

running

The way my day was panning out yesterday I thought I was going to miss out on my run but at 7.30pm, I escaped!!  Oh, and was it pure bliss or what?  It was a nice night for running.  Although it was a little humid there was a nice cool breeze.  When I finished and was doing my stretching it started to sprinkle with rain 🙂

I set out to do a 5km run with the intent to do 6km if all felt ok.  All did in fact feel ok and I did my very first “long run”.  I did a street run which I really enjoy doing now especially because of all the scattered hills.  I can feel myself getting stronger and more confident when I approach them now which is nice.  I have to say though I did have a bit of a rude shock while running.  I passed some shop windows and caught sight of myself and saw that I don’t actually look as athletic as I feel.  In fact, I looked like I was actually waddling with my butt sticking out a mile.  I will have to definitely steer clear of shop windows as it wasn’t very good for my ego at the time.  The run felt wonderful and I guess that is what really counts but geez, it would be nice to actually look good while doing it!!  

The plan for me now is to continue doing two 5km runs and continue to build up the third run every week.  Although, I had a few niggles towards end of run, it was all fine after stretching.  I have a little niggle in that left ball of foot and if that doesn’t completely go in the next two weeks, I am going back to Pod.

ramblings

I am taking my boys to Williamstown today to catch up with a girlfriend and her little boy.  We had planned to take the kids to the beach if the weather was good.  I haven’t actually checked the forecast so I have no idea what it is going to be like.  We are definitely going to venture out somewhere around there anyway so it should be a good day 🙂

Comments on: "6km" (3)

  1. I didn’t make it out for a run yesterday but it was defnitely a good day for it.

    Have fun with your day out today. Williamstown is so lovely.

  2. Yes, it was a delight to be out there last night wasn’t it. I think I got out about half an hour later than you and had the sprinkles of rain for most of the run. It was superrrb!

    I know what you mean about not looking as athletic as you feel. I was out the other night and ran past my daughter who was out walking with some friends. She asked me when we got back if I’d seen another runner (because he has a strange action) and I was silly enough to ask her what I look like when I’m running. Her answer was “Well alright I suppose , what do you want me to say” or something similar. Not all that inspiring.

  3. I have a massive tilt when I run too- butt out and everything, I think I will have to accept it though. I have to really concentrate to change my posture while I run- it uses so many different muscles.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

