Just another WordPress.com weblog

Coming out of the Closet

running

Well it is official, I am coming out of the closet!  I zipped down to the Coburg Harriers last night and loved every minute of it.  I think I am really becoming “a runner”.  I was so nervous when I was getting ready and then to to top it off when I got there I couldn’t find any of the people I had been told to locate.  My hubby, 2 boys and their cousin, who is staying with us at the moment, had decided to come down and play cricket on the near by oval.  I fleetingly thought to myself if worse comes to worse I could always just join them and forget about this whole mad caper.  I ended up deciding to watch the little aths events that were on and pretend I was one of the parents.  It wasn’t long before I noticed a few “older runners” arriving and heading out.  By about the third lot, I decided to do a shifty and follow them.  It was a little 2km run through merri creek on a trail section with a few little hills.  When I arrived back I thought to myself I could just bolt now but I am a bit of stickler for seeing things through so I asked one of the runners if they were part of Brians (coach) group.  Bingo, yes, so I tagged along.  I could of died a thousand deaths when I walked into the clubrooms and there were about 15 people of varying ages, and all eyes were on me!!  I soon found Jegster who went to great lengths to make me feel welcome and he introduced me to Brian.

We headed out to start our session.  At this stage I was thinking “what the bloody hell are you doing here?”   I soon told myself off and thought just get on with it.  We did another little warm-up jog and then Brian told us we were going to do circuit sessions aroung the merri creek and  a session of hills.  WTF!!!!!!  I have never done real hills before in my life apart from recently conquering the Anderson Street hill so then I really started getting nervous.  But you know what, I loved every god dang minute.  Am I abnormal????  I loved the fact that I pushed myself out of that comfort zone and I could clearly see the benefits of doing these types of strenghtening drills.  I was also quite proud of the fact that I didn’t make a scene and kept up a fairly well all considering.  I am going to have to get use to running on trails though as it was uneven in parts so I really had to concentrate on my footing.  I was envisioning myself on my very first session rolling down the embankment, and apart from the embarrassment of such an event occuring, ending up with a sprained ankle, pmsl!  I think I will have to find some good ankle strengthening exercises as I do have weak ankles.

When the session finished I spoke to Brian about my goals and I came away feeling so excited about it all.  This has been a really good move for me and if I can manage to get there once a week, I will be extremely happy with that 🙂

Comments on: "Coming out of the Closet" (5)

  1. Excellent stuff Lee, I’m glad you enjoyed it so much – it’s going to make a huge difference to your running and the way you feel about it. Yay!

  2. Yay- what a positive experience- and no embarassing tumbles down hills- good work.

  3. 🙂

    I am so glad it was a positive experience for you. I was very wary/shy when I turned up to my first session with my running group as well, but now I feel like part of the family.

    I hope you can keep it up, it will be so good for you, well done!

  4. Congratulations on taking a step I haven’t had the guts to take (been agonising over the decision too). Maybe once you get settled in, you can be the one to welcome me into the fold if I ever work up the courage !!

  5. That is awesome Lee, I’m so happy for you. I would love to be doing the same, its just finding the time/location/babysitter…. as you know only too well. Sounds like you are really going from strength to strength now and there will be no stopping you. Keep up the great work.

    MAR.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

