Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Right Head Space

running

Well, I did run for for thirty minutes all up with one toilet stop but not for me, for my three year old who is in the process of being toilet trained and insisted I had to take him into toilet and not his Dad 🙄 Had to laugh because he actually “held on” and waited for me to come around the lake.  I was very happy about that because in my haste I had forgotten to put his training pants on so my run could have been cut short had he had an “accident”.  This is the very reason why I like to take off for by myself because somehow I am never “off duty” 😆 It was such a nice morning I shouldn’t really begrudge the rest of the family wanting to get out 🙂

Running with adjustments on my orthotics seemed to go ok.  I think my hip is not as sore today and there is no sign of sciatica, touch wood.  I do have a niggle in my right shin which feels abit like shin soreness but hopefully everything will sort out

When I was running today the thought crossed my mind that I am being totally ridiculous about doing the Melbourne Half Marathon this year.  The way I feel at the moment, I just can’t see it happening.  I seemed to have lost my enthusiasm since R4K.  I was so totally focused and committed to that run but I can’t seem to get into the same head space.  I sat and wrote out a bit of a training regime to get me back up to 10km for Run to G thinking that might help but I don’t know.  I know I am feeling down in the dumps about Dad but I don’t think that is the reason.  So I think what I have to do is try and get into this “new training plan” and just do what I am suppose to do and hopefully my enthusiasm will return.

rambling

Thanks for the good wishes concerning my Dad.  It is so damn depressing being so far from my family when things are not right.  As most of you know Dad has Alzheimers and we were trying to keep him in his family home as long as possible.  We had organised various services to help us do that and they have been great but it has becoming clear to us that we needed to look to “the future”.  We have been waiting for June/July as that is when we could get him into a really nice aged facility which caters for Alzheimers patients and it is 2 seconds from my sister’s house.  In the last few weeks Dad has deteriorated not only mentally but physically which is why he is in hospital now and even if he gets back on his feet physically, he won’t be going home.  It is so sad to think of my Dad this way and I am just beside myself.  I guess I am grieving for the Dad I had.  I know I am going to have to think about going home again and wish I could just jump on a plane and do it.  I am so glad I went home with my two boys in November and had that time with him.  I feel enormous guilt and sadness that I am not there now full time helping my sister and being there for my Dad. 

Comments on: "The Right Head Space" (5)

  1. All pretty hard, Lee. Keep up the running though, I find it is a great way to work through some of these issues and frustrations and keep giving you the energy to deal with stuff.

  2. Glad you got your half hour run. I’m sorry to hear about your Dad.

    As for the right head space, it’s great to have goals to aim for, but I think that it’s just as important to enjoy the process of getting there. You have your training plan sorted – my advice is have fun while you’re working on it.

    I agree with deege. Running certainly does help.

  3. What I was going to say was pretty much what Deege said, but I’ll say it anyway. Use your running as the time for you to escape, don’t fret about races, or training plans for a while, just find some time to run and enjoy the time running.

  4. Oh Lee, I know exactly how you feel. Well, actually, not quite, but I can sympathise about the not being there thing… that is so hard 😦 but, I am sure your sister knows how you feel, and try not to beat yourself up over it. I know it’s easier said than done though. Sending a great big ((((hug)))) Lee.

    As for the head space, I totally agree with Andrew and Deege, just run for runnings sake, do what you feel and the mojo will return. Set those goals, but see them for what they are, a bit of guidance rather than something set in stone. I find that really helps me when I feel like I’m not quite getting there.

    Btw, could you e-mail me an addy to send that last bit of trigger point stuff to? It refuses to go via tinterwebs (file way too big), but I really don’t mind popping it in the post for you 🙂 I’ll try one last time by zipping it…

    B.

  5. celeste said:

    Great to see you getting out there! And it seems the family are taking an interest too!

    Congrats on the little one “holding on”! Woo Hoo! What a milestone!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

