Just another WordPress.com weblog

I Love You Dad

If last week was lousy this week has been absolutely horrendous!!  My beautiful dear Dad died yesterday morning 😦    I just can’t fecking believe it!!  He has been in hospital for the last 11 weeks (in Perth) basically waiting for hostel placement.  Finally after all those weeks, a lovely place came up, which I might add was going to be a back door job because my Aunty is a friend of the lady that runs it.  My sister was going to sign all the paper work on Wednesday morning and then when it was all arranged, he was going to be moved out of the hospital environment.  He has been so unhappy there and we were all so relieved to be finally getting him out and into something more homely. 

Well, it was obviously not meant to be.  It was Tuesday afternoon and he got up from chair to go to the toot and he had a bit of a turn and fell.  He has had a “companion” with him around the clock because he was unsteady on his feet at times and also due to the fact that he kept trying to”escape” to go back home.  Anyway, she tried to support him as he fell but he banged his head which needed four stitches and I am afraid it was all downhill from there.  He never recovered 😥   He was vomiting all night and medical staff suspected that he was bleeding in the brain.  When they did the CAT scan on Wednesday morning, no abnormalities were detected but there was no improvement in his condition.  Through the early hours of Thursday the hospital called my sister and summoned her back to the hospital as they knew it was not good.  My sister rang me in hysterics to inform me and she sat with him.  She called back at about 9.30am Melbourne time with an update and I decided to book flight and get home to be with my Dad.  I hung up and 2 secs later, the phone rings again and my sister is screaming at me that Dad has died.  I can’t even begin to express all my feelings.  I am am so devastated and I hate being so far away……… it fecking sucks!!!

We have made all arrangements together for funeral over the phone and I will be flying home on Monday.  The funeral is scheduled for Wednesday.  Even though after my visit in November, I felt as though I had already lost my Dad due to Alzheimers kicking in, this is a total different level 😥

Comments on: "I Love You Dad" (12)

  1. So sorry to hear about your dear Dad. Hope you get to Perth soon enough to be with your sister and so you can say good bye. Don’t know what to say but I am thinking of you.

  2. Oh Lee, I’m so sorry to hear your sad news

    ((((((((((Lee))))))))))

  3. Lee, there is nothing we can say to ease your pain at this really difficuly time, but just know we are thinking about you and your family, and you are in our prayers.

    Hugs from me too.

  4. Sorry to hear about your dad.

  5. Lee my thoughts are with you.

    Take care.

  6. no words i say can console.. my thoughts are with you

  7. How devastating for you, I am so terribly sorry for you and your family, hugs your way, take care.

  8. The weather was beautiful on Saturday – such a dramatic change from the grey drizzle we’ve been having for the past couple of weeks. Could that have been your Dad smiling again and telling you he is a peace??

    Hugs from me too.

  9. I’m so sorry to hear about your father. My thoughts and prayers are with you at this difficult time.

  10. Lee – i have only just read the news about your dear dad – i am SOO sorry to hear that, what a terrible time for you. From what i can work out the funeral was yesterday and you were over there with your sister for it. I hope everything went ok for the funeral and that it was a lovely tribute to your obviously much loved dad. I wrote a poem when my grandfather died and i will leave you with the last couple of lines – “You are gone and i must face this and though it will not cease the pain, i gain comfort from the thought that all my memories will remain” Love from Joey XX

  11. madaboutrunning said:

    Oh Lee, I am so sorry to have read about your dear Dad just now. Two weeks have past but I know you will still be reeling and trying to cope. Draw comfort from knowing that he is now at peace and without pain and bewilderment. Keep your remaining precious family close and draw strength from knowing that you were a loving, caring daughter. May he rest in peace forever more. Love, Vicky xxx

  12. lee, am only just reading this now and very sorry to hear your sad news. I pray that the funeral went well and you were all able to give him the send off that he deserved.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

