Just another WordPress.com weblog

On Another Planet…

It has been a whirlwind past 2 weeks thats for sure.  It has also been one of the most heartbreaking experiences I have ever had to go through and I know it will always be with me forever more.  I seemed to go into automatic mode when I received the news of Dad’s death and even managed to run about three times including once in Perth.  Have to say though, since returning to Melbourne last Thursday (23rd) the day after the funeral, things haven’t been that crash hot.  It was really hard leaving my sister behind even though she has a really supportive husband and two beautiful children.  I so wanted to stay a little longer but of course the reason I came back so quickly was because I felt I had to get back to my family and try get back into the normal routine of life, easier said than done I am afraid.  I have had moments when I have felt as though I am on another planet, for example, when I had to collect the car from mechanic on Tuesday.  I paid account, collected keys and then proceeded to walk back home only to realise about 5 minutes into walk I had forgotten to take the car and had to go back to get it 😳

Thank-you all so much for all your kind words, it was so nice to read them.  I know my Dad would want me to get on with things but the sadness and the disbelief that he has actually gone is making it a little hard.  Time will heal, I know and I am just going to do the best I can with each passing day.

running

Now in pure me mode, I have written up my 6 week running regime in the lead up to the the Melbourne Marathon 10km.  Not sure if I am in fact going to do it, I will know closer to event.  I have set my running days as Wednesday, Friday and Sundays.  I managed to get my arse out there on Wednesday but I so did not want to run.  I went down to Princes Park and decided to do “whatever” even though I had a 5km run written on my schedule.  I did manage to run the whole 5kms but I was having a bit of a bawl around the 3km mark because I was thinking about things.  I decided I’d better pull my head in as I didn’t want anyone to think it was a really bad run 😆   I should have ran today but really didn’t feel like it again, and, as it turns out I have no baby-sitter for my 3 year old anyway.  I will try and get out tomorrow instead.

Comments on: "On Another Planet…" (5)

  1. morseyruns said:

    Lee- you are so good, getting out and running when you are obviously not feeling 100% happy- but not just hanging out on the couch watching Kerri-Anne.

    I have to say laughed out loud when I read about you at the mechanics.

  2. Lee – great to see you on-line again. It sounds like you are having a really tough time, and there is so little anyone can do to make it feel better. I can relate to your comment about bawling because you were thinking about things when running. There is no doubt that running time is great thinking time, but I find too that when you have something “difficult” to think about, because your running time is such “clear” thinking time it can sometimes magnify the feelings somewhat. Just remember the great times with your Dad – I’m sure that is what he would want – and I’m sure he is up there watching over you.

    And forgetting the car – that is hysterical 🙂

  3. Hang in there mate 🙂

  4. i can so easily relate to the forgetting the car thing!!!! i have wlked home from school before and hten realsied i had taken the car to school d’oh!
    ..i think its great that you kept perservering with the run..eventually i will help you feel better as well!

  5. Lee, remember to be kind to yourself in the middle of all of this. We live in such a “fast food” society that people expect everything to be quick, even getting over the loss of a loved one. I think you’re very wise to aim to do the best you can each day.

    Well done with getting out there to run.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

