Just another WordPress.com weblog

help needed

WARNING:  Negative post!  Don’t read if you do not want your bubble to burst!!

I am really down in the dumps 😦   I have lost all motivation to run and my eating is all over the place but, Sara, I haven’t succumbed to Kerry-Anne Kennerly, yet!  I am really trying to snap out of it with not much success.  I don’t know what to do to get back on track.  I keep looking at the runs coming up after MM as I know I won’t be doing that one, and I set the goals but I still haven’t ran since Saturday, 1st Sep……. I am in the danger zone of losing all the hard work I have put into be able to run 10kms. 

I borrowed the CSIRO total wellbeing diet book to try and get some enthusiasm to lose the last remaining 5kg but I am craving that comfort food and going on my merry way and having it when I want 😦

My 9 year old went of to his first school camp this morning and I am feeling such a sadness which is absolutely ludicrous I know because under normal circumstances, I would be singing from the roof tops!!!

Help needed!!  If anyone has got this far reading this depressing post, please offer some advice or say some words to snap me out of this 😯

Comments on: "help needed" (9)

  1. Sorry to hear you’re not feeling the best, Lee but dont’ be too hard on yourself – you’ve been though a lot in the last months and it’s understandable that you’re feeling down. It can be hard when you’re going through emotional times not to use food to numb the feelings.

    As far as advice goes, I don’t think I can tell you anything you don’t already know but I reckon the main thing is to take baby steps. Even if you get out for a short run, its better than nothing… and once you get out for a good run, you’ll definitely have the motivation to get for another then another…

  2. I have no advice either Lee- but I am excited that your little boy is old enough to go away on school camp by himself. I did the CSIRO diet for a bit too- but I really craved bread the whole time. Go ahead and have whatever makes you happy- as long as it doesn’t then make you unhappy. Definitely go and have a little run or a mind clearing walk- especially if it gets you away KerryAnne (or Dr Phil!). 1-9-07 wasn’t that long ago- you will be fine. Do a 4km spring into shape run if you think you need a goal.

  3. Hey Lee, when I saw “It’s Just Running” in bold in my Bloglines list, I thought great, Lee is back. But then I read the post and saw how down you were 😦

    Sara has stolen both of my ideas, which were just to get out and use the run to get those endorphins going and clear the head, and to consider the old Spring Into Shape series – even if just the 4km (which I’m doing). A cheap race if you do all three – and a free t-shirt – what have you got to lose!

    Feeling sad with 9yo at camp is just showing what a super mum you are, but I’m sure he is having an absolute blast with all the other kids!

  4. This is the best place to unburden all those negative thoughts!! There are a heap of people who can relate to your story. I’m one of them. I’ve got no advice except to congratulate you on telling us. You’ve been through a bit lately and I’m sure you’ll deal with it in your own time.

  5. Lee, thanks for your comment on my blog. I’m glad that my words were some help.

    I think it’s really important for you to realise that being sad and wanting to cry is perfectly normal at a time like this. The side effects – feeling that you want to eat all the time and that you don’t want to run – are just side effects and you’ll be able to overcome those feelings when you’re ready.

    Once upon a time people wore mourning clothes, which let other people know that they were grieving. Those big hats with veils meant that women could cry at any time without getting embarrassed about being in tears. I think it’s a shame that we don’t wear them today.

    As for your eating .. I’m a comfort eater and it’s so difficult to stop, even when I know that I’m not hungry. Maybe think up some other things that comfort you. For example, soup works well for me .. I associate it with feeling warm and happy .. sometimes (not always) when I just want to “eat eat eat” I make myself have a tasty cup of soup first. The water fills me, the warmth comforts me, and I usually find the “eat eat eat” feeling goes away.

    Something that works when I’m craving food is a distraction. If I can distract myself for 10 minutes, the battle is usually won. Sara suggested a little run or a mind clearing walk. That sounds like the perfect distraction and it will build you back into your running routine when you’re ready to go out for longer.

    If you are going to eat, have something self-indulgent that takes some time to assemble like a super delicious sandwich with leg ham and camembert cheese or walk down to the local shops and buy yourself a hot chocolate.

    You know your blog friends are here for you. Hugs.

  6. hey lee..you know what i would do if i was you..get out and tell yourself youre going to go for a walk, nothing too hard..and once you are out im sure you will run more than walk..and if you dont just enjoy being out there and dont be too hard on yourself..plug away..

  7. To be blunt, you have had a crap month and no one could blame you for going off the rails, it’s to be expected.

    This is probably not a good time to try fancy diets, if you slip up you will be even harder on yourself.

    Just go with the old 80/20 concept, eat well 80% of the time and for “fun” 20% of the time.

    Take yousrelf out for a run/walk, no pressure, just do it for the pleasure of it, don’t time it, don’t worry about covering a certain distance just enjoy the wind in your hair and the sun on your face.

    This is not the time for plans, rules and restrictions, you need to be kind to yourself.

    Take care 🙂

  8. Sue (hobbles) said:

    Hey, Lee, so sorry to hear about the lousy time you’ve had. Give yourself plenty of time to get any semblance of normal life back again. I know we’ve not met, yet, but any time you fancy getting out for a run, pop round to Montrose, where the sun always shines. We could meet down at Lilydale Lake, and I can watch your littlie and mine, and you can have a run. There’s an ace play ground and my son will love to show it off. It’s one thing to want to get out for a run, its another to actually manage it. Please yell if you need a hand, it would be great to meet you and junior!

  9. Hey Lee,

    I have just been catching up with your posts, and I am so sorry to hear about your father. There’s nothing I can really say to make anything better, but I can send a blogland hug. *biiiig bugs*.

    But don’t be too hard on yourself with the running/exercise. I can only echo what everyone else has said, they are some brilliant suggestions in there. My one thing, and it’s seen me through whatever crap I’ve had to sort out is walking. It needs no prep, no special clothing, just a pair of legs and a place to go.

    As for your little guy being away, that’s just because you are such a great Moomin, and right now more than anything else you probably want all the family around you.

    Take care Lee, with more big hugs,
    B.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

