Just another WordPress.com weblog

a big tweeter

It would be impossible to write of all events of past few months so here are my tweets  😀      

Major family crisis in April (very distressing)

Moved house in May

Ongoing health issues with 11 year old

No running or any form of exercise in that time

Eating has turned to pure crap!

Returned to work

Home front situation slowly settling

Fast forward  to late June/early July:  I started John Binghams run/walk half marathon regime with the definite goal of doing the 10km at Melbourne Marathon and with the sneaky in my mind goal of maybe doing the half.  I also started clinical pilates again at the sports clinic when I could get there for my ongoing annoying sciatica and imbalances which need to be sorted.  Was going really well and quietly getting real excited about the half but my knee started to twinge on the longer distances and so now I feel as though I am back to square one 😦  I know I have to perservere with stretching, core strengthening stuff and quad work but I am annoyed.  I have carried all this since I started running and have never ran without issues going on.  The funny thing is all my niggles are now affecting me when I am at work on the wards walking.  Last night towards end of shift, my sciatica and pf was killing me!!  Unfortunately my othotics don’t fit in my work shoes so I may have to look into that.

So goals now are just to run sensibly, even if it is a meazly 30minutes, try for the life of me to get to Pilates, this always seems to go on the back burner when life gets in the way, keep stretching, self massage with foam roller and spiky ball, use the wobble board that I bought and find some really good vmo strengthening exercises.  I can do this, I know I can!  If  I want to build up my running distances again I have no choice, it all has to be done 🙄

Comments on: "a big tweeter" (5)

  1. Nice to see you out here again! Been missing you!

    Hope all the homefront situations are starting to sort themselves out. I know how stressful these things can be!

    Struggling with an injury can be tough too. I’ve just started to feel like I’m getting on top of mine, but still think I’m a way away from a half or full mara, so probably planning to do the 10k or 5k on MM day as well.

    Keep up the blogging, I find it keeps me honest and motivated!

  2. Hi Lee- I am still here, swearing at my niggles and trying to lose the weight that has piled back on- and doing my own run/walk program as well! Hope it all starts looking up. New orthotics for the work shoes sounds like a good start (or wear your runners to work!)
    Sara

  3. Lee, re your “thanks for the welcome back” message on my blog. No problem, it is my pleasure. A little while ago I had a clean up on my blog, and deleted all the entries from my blogroll for blogs that hadn’t been active for a while, but I couldn’t bring myself to delete yours, hoping for a return!

  4. I have lost count of the amount of times I have had to start again. It’s great that even after the eventful few months you have had that you are getting out there again 🙂 best of luck

  5. hey lee
    i know its a pain but the PILATES is what wil make hte biggest difference to your sciatica, and also in time to your running. i had a massive back flare up cos i havent been going to pilates, am now back onto it-amin of once per week, no excuses for me anymore, its something i MSUT do or it just hurts too much 😦

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

