Just another WordPress.com weblog

plodding along in new shoes

I am still tossing up whether to do the 5km at MM this year and now that I have missed the early entry its not looking good.  Not only will it now cost $55, I will have to go into the MCG in race week to pick up race pack which will be a big hassle for me.  I might still have an insane moment and decide to do it but if not, I will probably do the next Spring into Shape . 

I have set myself a training program with the help of Smartcoach from Runners World (USA) with the goal run being the Sussan Women’s Fun Run 10km which is in December.  So I have been plodding along just doing 3km runs with a km of walking.  This Sunday I am set to increase to 5km, lol!  This time last year I was doing 16 – 18km runs in prep for the MM half and to be honest, I miss those long distances.  I have had a really tough year this year familywise so I am just grateful I am back running again.  The plan is just to enjoy  my running and build up as able….. thats the best I can do at the moment.

It occurred to me the other day that I was long overdue for some new runners and I trotted down to Radius 7 the  Brooks Factory in Smith Street, Collingwood.  I was all set to check out neutral shoes in other brands as we are on a bit of a budget at the moment and was absolutely estatic that I picked up a pair of Radius 7’s for $82!!   I usually wear the  Brooks Glycerins which are usually around the $250 mark and they were going for $170.  Still too much for me but it is worth remembering for the future as I usually buy them on-line from a USA running store for that price with postage included.  I am really happy with the Radius 7’s and the knee pain I was getting in both knees, new niggle, has gone so I can only assume it was my old shoes 😳

Comments on: "plodding along in new shoes" (7)

  1. New shoes solve everything!

  2. I was looking forward to seeing you at the 5km MM, but can understand as I nearly balked at the early-bird rate! I think my run is going to be a 5km trot, not really in PB busting shape at the moment I fear!

  3. thats a LOT of money for a 5km race-put the money towards your next new pairs of shoes and go and run 5kms around the streets
    but maybe im just tight! look for a sri chimnoy 5km

  4. Eeeek, I wouldn’t pay $55 to run 5km, that’s a bit rich, it’s almost enough for a second pair of those shoes!

    I love the Sussan run, I’ve entered the 5km again already. You’ve got a good 2 months to get ready, no prob 🙂

  5. flickhawkins said:

    Howdy

    Hey I am doing the Sussan 10km. We could do coffee afterwards?

    I am with you $55 for 5 km!!! I am doing the MM half again but am feeling really virusy this week and have a big do on Wednesday night that could potentially wipe out 6 months training!!!

    Hope to see you soon.

  6. I’ve signed up to do the 5km at MM. I’m running with Cilla and you’re more than welcome to join us if you need some running buddies. Of course drinks at Transport are mandatory too 😀

    I’m also doing the 4km SIS, so I may see you there if you decide to do it.

  7. I’m thinking about the 8 km SIS as I’m in Melbourne that weekend. Still to actually commit to it though!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

