Just another WordPress.com weblog

living in the now

I had the best run this morning 🙂 It was only 6km but it was comfortable and I had a good rhythm going.  I did a 4.5km run on Friday and it was total crap!!  I struggled bad.  It is really weird how runs can be so different.

It was an out and back course which took me up past the cemetery.  I don’t know what it is with me but I find it really interesting to run past and look at all the gravestones  😳  Sometimes I think I would like to actually run on the roads through the cemetery but thats probably going a bit too far not to mention disrespectful!  When I read the names on the grave stones it makes me wonder about the person and families they have left behind and just the way life does in fact go on after you have gone.  I find myself thinking alot about my own morality and that life is way to short.  It seems to me you start realising this as you get older 😦  

When I went back to Weight Watchers on Tuesday they launched the new Pro Points program.  You no longer work out point value of  food on saturated fat and kilojoules it is now worked on protein, carbs,  fat (full) and fibre.   A lot of the point values for food have gone up so you really need to know how many points are in what to be able to do it successfully.  I have  been doing WW for so long on and off over the years I know the point values like the back of my hand but now I am completely in the dark.   This means I needed to buy the tools to be able to work out new point values.  I decided in the end to join the WW E-Tools which is an on-line service.  It cost $60 for the month and includes unlimited meetings over month, tool to work out points ( you enter values of food and it give you the point value), database of foods/point value and an on-line tracker.  It actually works out cheaper to do it this way than pay the weekly meeting cost plus buy the bits and pieces.  I have made the decision to commit to 1 month and then I am going to cancel it.  I have lost 4kg and would like to lose another 4kg.  I know I just need to keep in the swing of things to be successful, I can and will do this!!

I am doing a six day stretch of afternoon shift at the moment and I am on day 4.  I usually get home before 10pm and I am usually starving by then and this is my danger zone.  I need to find a suitable low point filling snack to have at this time of night and not reach for the crap that is in the cupboard for the rest of the family!

Comments on: "living in the now" (1)

  1. I know what you mean about those thoughts of mortality. I’ve been a little down recently myself and having those as well as the “why am I doing this” thoughts about work and life in general, sometimes it all seems so pointless.

Leave a comment